top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCamille Johnson

Success!!

It worked! I changed my career from a long-time educator, business owner and former stay-at-home mom to a Data Analyst! Last winter, this was just an idea and now, after a lot of hard work training and even more in the job hunt, I will be starting as an associate at Ferguson Partners in Chicago. I could not be more excited!


I know a lot of aspiring analysts follow me and you want to hear the numbers, so here they are:

• 95 applications - 52 no response.

• Out of the other 43 tries, either a rejection email or

• 4 resulted in phone screenings

• 4 in skills tests

• Of those, 4 went to meetings with HR

• 2 progressed to meeting with hiring managers

• 1 project assigned

• 1 final round interview

• 1 offer


It took a total of 6 months on the job search to get here, at least 5 resume revisions and 8 portfolio projects, but all I needed was 1 yes - and that's true for you, too. Don't give up. Stay consistent, keep improving and keep reminding yourself that you have what it takes.


Thank you to @MeritAmerica for the excellent training and professional support and to my fantastic family for believing in me and lifting me up through all the discouraging moments. And thanks to everyone who has been following my journey on here and waiting for this news.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why LinkedIn Matters

So it you're up to 100's of online application with few interview requests, what can you do? One thing that's made a huge difference for...

Ready with an Answer

Recently, I got a screening email from a recruiter. Completing it really demonstrated how far I've come since I first started my job...

Comments


bottom of page