top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCamille Johnson

Thoughts on My Mid-life Career Change

Last year at this time, I had no idea I would be here.


I was burning out running my small business and wanted to make plans for a better future, but nothing checked all the boxes for me. I came across the #MeritAmerica program via TikTok In February and could not have guessed how it would immediately change my life.


I could have never guessed that something like Data Analytics would appeal to me and get me to spend hours at a laptop, searching Stack Overflow and Google for answers. Who am I, even? I've always been an arts and literature type of person and I'm as surprised as anyone that I'm good at this and want to make it a career.


Now it's a new year and I've completed my training, closed my business and am fully committed to getting a new job. It's scary and I fight back doubts, but I'm here to say that it's never too late to learn something completely new and take a different path than anyone expects. I've had two full-blown careers before this, loved them, but felt like they were complete. Don't think you are too old to start fresh. I can't wait to see where I am next January and where you can be too!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success!!

It worked! I changed my career from a long-time educator, business owner and former stay-at-home mom to a Data Analyst! Last winter, this...

Why LinkedIn Matters

So it you're up to 100's of online application with few interview requests, what can you do? One thing that's made a huge difference for...

Ready with an Answer

Recently, I got a screening email from a recruiter. Completing it really demonstrated how far I've come since I first started my job...

Comments


bottom of page