top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCamille Johnson

Week 4

It's week 4 of my Merit America bootcamp and the end of the Foundations phase. Next week we progress to the ominously titled, "Immersion Phase", where we'll be learning the technical skills of data analytics in earnest. To enter the phase, we're asked to sign the success sharing agreement, which is the promise to pay back our tuition costs ($5700) on a monthly basis once we've landed a new job paying $40,000 or more. If that doesn't happen, then there is no repayment.


I think that's fair. As I mentioned last week, I did my research and deeply considered whether paying for this course would be worth the investment, or whether I could just do it on my own. The Google Data Analytics professional certification course, which is what we are using, is only $40 a month on Coursera and can be reasonably completed within a couple of months. So what is the added value that Merit brings? That was my question and what I've been detailing in my weekly posts. It's the professional development, the support and mentorship and how incredibly successful Merit is at placing their graduates in high value jobs.


Still, before signing I hesitated. I've already worked my way through the majority of the Google Analytics course and decided to see how much a personal career coach would be. One who would do much the same thing Merit is doing. But guess what? It costs virtually the same amount and was not near as detailed and personalized. So I signed the commitment. The best part is that I am not only bringing my dreams to reality, but also will play a part in Merit's mission. They are a non-profit organization which creates a career pathway for the nearly half of the U.S. workforce that do not earn a living wage in spite of their ambition and hard work. I'm helping myself and helping others at the same time and that's a win-win.


I think it's telling that every week this blog ends up sounding like a commercial for Merit America. It's ironic because I'm really just trying to document my career change journey, and many of the creators I follow recommend learning data analytics on your own, course by course, and then creating a portfolio. But every week as I reflect, I find myself really appreciating what I've gained in such a short time and end up realizing it's because of this program. Just the honest truth, folks. Promise they're not sponsoring me :)


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success!!

It worked! I changed my career from a long-time educator, business owner and former stay-at-home mom to a Data Analyst! Last winter, this...

Why LinkedIn Matters

So it you're up to 100's of online application with few interview requests, what can you do? One thing that's made a huge difference for...

Ready with an Answer

Recently, I got a screening email from a recruiter. Completing it really demonstrated how far I've come since I first started my job...

Commenti


bottom of page