top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCamille Johnson

Weeks 12 & 13

We're getting close to the end of our Data Analytics program at Merit America. Week 12 & 13 have concluded and job applications have begun! I'm happy to report that I actually feel ready for this stage. I've created my portfolio and put some projects in it that I'm proud of and am eager to talk about. My mock interview session went so much better than I expected! I left feeling way more confident than when I first started practicing "Tell me about yourself"

a few weeks ago. It was honestly the most helpful thing I've done so far at Merit.


Now I will be practicing my technical skills some more and spending a good amount of time searching job boards and using all the tools we've been taught about putting in an outstanding application.


One piece of advice I received, though, is really standing out to me. It isn't enough to show some cool Tableau dashboards without the part where you tell what they're saying by sharing some business insights. I forgot about that. I was so proud of the neat stuff that I learned to do and the pretty picture it made. So I will be going back in to do the real work of telling the story. I've just started the book, Storytelling with Data, which really has some amazing insights and ideas for just how to do that.


Just 3 weeks to go until my Merit data analytics cohort graduates. I'll share my final thoughts about the journey then. Bye for now!






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success!!

It worked! I changed my career from a long-time educator, business owner and former stay-at-home mom to a Data Analyst! Last winter, this...

Why LinkedIn Matters

So it you're up to 100's of online application with few interview requests, what can you do? One thing that's made a huge difference for...

Ready with an Answer

Recently, I got a screening email from a recruiter. Completing it really demonstrated how far I've come since I first started my job...

Comments


bottom of page